Never Forget.

Today is September 11, 2010.  9 years ago on this very day, the United States of America was the victim of absolute terror.  2,973 innocent people perished as a result of 3 hijacked planes crashing in New York, Virginia, and Pennsylvania.  The website http://www.WorldStatesmen.org sums it up precisely: “The victims were mothers, fathers, sisters and brothers of many faiths and races who came from more than 80 nations.  All who were killed died working and living the American dream.”

Take a moment today to remember those we lost.  Take a moment to recall and read about the events of that day, as horrific as they are.  Take a moment to thank those who served, and those who continue to serve to help protect our nation and make our world a safer place.  Firefighters, police officers, paramedics, Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, National Guard, Coast Guard, senators, congressmen, the president, teachers, doctors, nurses, physician assistants…the list goes on.  Regardless of our political beliefs, associations, jobs, education, religion, age, or race let’s all stand together today as Americans and never forget.

 

“The city is going to survive, we are going to get through it, It’s going to be very, very difficult time. I don’t think we yet know the pain that we’re going to feel when we find out who we lost, but the thing we have to focus on now is getting this city through this, and surviving and being stronger for it.” -Mayor Rudolph Giuliani

“America has its faults as a society, as we have ours. But I think of the Union of America born out of the defeat of slavery.  I think of its Constitution, with its inalienable rights granted to every citizen still a model for the world. I think of a black man, born in poverty, who became chief of their armed forces and is now secretary of state Colin Powell and I wonder frankly whether such a thing could have happened here.  I think of the Statue of Liberty and how many refugees, migrants and the impoverished passed its light and felt that if not for them, for their children, a new world could indeed be theirs.  I think of a country where people who do well, don’t have questions asked about their accent, their class, their beginnings but have admiration for what they have done and the success they’ve achieved.  I think of those New Yorkers I met, still in shock, but resolute; the fire fighters and police, mourning their comrades but still head held high.” –Prime Minister Tony Blair

“Out of the depths of sorrow and sacrifice will be born again the glory of mankind.” -Prime Minister Winston Churchill

“The future does not belong to the faint-hearted, it belongs to the brave.” -President Ronald Reagan

“How do I respond when I see that in some Islamic countries there is vitriolic hatred for America? I’ll tell you how I respond: I’m amazed. I’m amazed that there is such misunderstanding of what our country is about, that people would hate us. I am, I am — like most Americans, I just can’t believe it. Because I know how good we are, and we’ve go to do a better job of making our case. We’ve got to do a better job of explaining to the people in the Middle East, for example, that we don’t fight a war against Islam or Muslims. We don’t hold any religion accountable. We’re fighting evil. And these murderers have hijacked a great religion in order to justify their evil deeds. And we cannot let it stand.”  -President George W. Bush


2 thoughts on “Never Forget.

  1. This is so moving, Andrea. I am so humbled today remembering that day and now looking at my life; watching my friends constantly saying goodbye to their spouses and getting ready to say goodbye to my own because of that day. Even though it was nine years ago, it still continues to affect many people. Thank you for posting this. Love you!

Leave a Reply

