going, going, gone…

Welp, deployment is finally here…gaaahhhh how I wish I could say it wasn’t!  It is almost hard to believe that it has already been 13 months since the last one.  Man, those months sure flew by a lot faster than I would have liked.  Clint and the rest of his command left base for San Diego yesterday.  Luckily we were able to celebrate our first Thanksgiving as a married couple in the company of great friends (ie our Navy family), and had a few days to just hangout and enjoy the last of our time together.  Of course it didn’t feel like enough time, but I don’t think you can ever have enough days to prepare yourself for such a long separation.  After the boys left thankfully I was able to keep myself preoccupied enough to not cry my eyes out anymore than I already had.  I’ve had the pleasure of becoming great friends with a few of the other wives and rather than cry we opted for some vodka and board games.  Can’t go wrong with 5 hours of Monopoly and Clue!  Haha.  

It hasn’t really hit me yet that Clint is gone.  I mean, it has but it hasn’t.  I’ve done alright so far, but occasionally the tears will just burst out of no where.  The boat is still in port which gives me the ability to still text and talk with Clint, but that is a double edge sword in itself.  Comforting to hear his voice, but a tap for the waterworks as well.  I will take it though, because once they leave San Diego it’s SEE YA LATER instant communication!  The next 7 months will definitely be tough, but I just need to remember to take my own advice and stay busy.  Maybe I will pick up a new hobby or twoor ten.  Anyone up for learning how to do pottery?  ðŸ™‚

To all the men and women about to embark on this cruise…I am sending all my love, thoughts, and prayers your way.  Never forget that you have friends and family back home who love you immensely and support you regardless of how difficult the times can be.  I hope for nothing less than a safe and successful deployment.

To my wonderfully amazing husband…ditto to what I said above.  ðŸ™‚  I love you with all my heart.  Although it often seems like I married you AND your employer, I will never doubt my decision to become your wife.  You are my world and you mean more to me than I could ever express.  I am so unbelievably proud of you and the job you do.  Stay safe, keep an eye out on the rest of the boys, take lots of photos and videos, and buy me cool stuff in port!!  I LOVE YOU.

 xoxo,

 

Leave a Reply

