today is a new day

This morning I made the conscious decision that I am going to try as hard as I can to stop moping around and feeling sad that Clint is gone.  I have done deployments before, and I have successfully gotten through them…this one is no different.  I am realizing that the best way to be a supportive wife is to continue to be strong and not let this separation bring my life to a halt.  Clint needs to know that I am ok, and that my world is not falling apart because he is away.  While it sometimes feels like it is, it ISN’T.  I still have my job, my health, a roof over my head, my friends and family, Clint’s love from afar, and my faith that God is keeping a watchful eye on the both of us. 

Clint works a crazy, hectic job up on the flight deck.  Because of his knowledge of the EA-6B Prowler, he has been selected to be one of the troubleshooters.  Their job is to give the final go-ahead to the readiness of the jet directly prior to launch.  He is along side nearly 35,000 pounds of plane that is operating at full capacity.  His safety, as well as the safety of those inside and around the plane, require him to have good judgement and a clear head.  The LAST thing anyone needs is for that to be fogged by his worry for me at home.

So today starts a new day.  I have much to do, and much to be thankful for.  There will still be days where things will be difficult, but I am not going to let them get the best of me.  I am a strong-willed, independent, and courageous woman.  I will stand by Clint, holding my head high, and continue to be proud of the job and the sacrifice he is making for our country.  I will remember that this is not permanent and that sooner than later he will be coming home.

  

One thought on “today is a new day

Leave a Reply

