and i’m back!

Hello!!  Good news, I am still alive and kicking!  The holidays and days off kicked my butt into lazy mode.  For all you who thought I maybe fell off the face of the planet…you can’t get rid of me that easily 🙂  Gosh, where to even begin? I guess I’ll start with Christmas and just do my best to work forward from there…  

Christmas…Sure didn’t feel like the Christmas season this year.  A lot of people seemed to agree with me, so it is hard to say if this feeling was caused by Clint being gone or not.  Even if the lack of the Christmas spirit wasn’t caused by Clint being away, the situation sure magnified it. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t have a bad Christmas!  I spent the weekend with my parents and sister, and close family friends.  It was actually 2 generations of Navy family… my dad a retired Chief and our family, my Uncle Bill a retired Master Chief with his wife and family, and then myself the newest addition to the Navy Wife Club.  I ate very well, slept a lot, and got the opportunity to just relax and hang out people I love. 

I guess the only was to describe it was incomplete.  This was our first Christmas as a married couple and we were thousands of mile apart.  We didn’t get to exchange gifts or kisses under mistletoe, we didn’t even get to talk until a few days later.  Thinking of Clint’s Christmas, or lack there of, didn’t necessarily make it better.  I was fortunate enough to at least have a break from life, but he was just preparing to start yet another 15 hour day.  On the plus side, I ordered Clint some Croc’s which he received on Christmas Eve…so all wasn’t lost.  Overall it wasn’t horrible…but it sure would have been a lot better if he were home (a common theme in just about every situation during deployment.)

New Years… This turned out to be a great weekend!  It started with me getting a dog!  His name is Charlie and he is a 7 month old Chiweenie.  In case you don’t already know, a Chiweenie is a mix between a Chihuahua and a Dachshund.  He is just about the cutest thing on the face of this planet and has been such a great companion with Clint gone.  It’s amazing what a difference it makes to have a little buddy to come home to.  The rest of the weekend was spent with my good friend Amy.  The love of her life is deployed with Clint, so she and I are basically in the same boat.  We both think New Years is overrated, so we had a few people over to make fried chicken and play a game of Sorry.  Besides being lazy and making food, many movies were watched and care packages were made for our boys at sea.  It really couldn’t have been any better given the circumstance.

 January thus far… ok actually Charlie won’t stay off my lap enough to write this so let’s just leave this as an intro into my next post.

Until next time!  🙂

 

One thought on “and i’m back!

Leave a Reply

