Lifetime’s “Coming Home” – What do you think?

On Sunday, March 6, Lifetime premiered a new reality series called “Coming Home.”  From NewsOk.com the show “will follow the surprise reunions of soldiers from all five branches of the military with their spouses, children, parents and other loved ones as they return home from active duty throughout the world.”

I watched the show and will be the first to admit that I wouldn’t have been able to keep my eyes dry if my life depended on it!  Now on our 3rd deployment as a couple (preparing for our 4th) and because of many other separations due to Clint’s Navy career, I am pretty darn familiar with the joys of homecoming.  Watching the show hit very close to home and I couldn’t help but share in the emotional high that these families were experiencing.  I was hooked after 1 episode. 

With that said, I was a little surprised when I read a discussion amongst military women who didn’t like the show or refused to watch it.  Some comments said the show was exploiting what should be a private moment, others thought it was too sad and emotional, some felt it didn’t show civilians the “military struggle” enough.  I had to respond.  Here is what I said:

“I am actually kind of surprised at how many people dislike the show or refuse to watch it. I totally agree that it is emotional and hits very close to home, but I don’t think that is necessarily a negative thing. To me, the show is a great reminder that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. That while deployments are difficult and a constant struggle, nothing can compare to the ultimate high I feel to be back in my husbands arms again. The show gives a small glimpse of what we endure during the separation, but more than anything I think it shares with others what a wonderful celebration of love and happiness homecomings are. In a society full of convenience and divorce when times get too tough, I think it’s a great reminder of what true love can overcome.”

This leads me to my question – What do you think about the show?  No opinion is right or wrong.  I am very curious to hear where people stand on this.


 

3 thoughts on “Lifetime’s “Coming Home” – What do you think?

  1. The previews for this show get me! this is my 1st deployment as a navy gf so this is all new to me.i love everything about it well almost everthing lol. this show just gets me more and more excited and ready for jon to come home.i cant wait to see this show my mom and i watched it and we cried like babies its amazing no one really understands what the military families have to go through. u just have to live it to find out. i may just be getting started but i no what it takes to be a strong navy gf!

  2. I LOVE the show! It shines a light on what a big deal homecoming really is for me. I can barely get through the opening song though before I tear up. I'm glad I chose to watch this alone! My eyes were swollen shut from tearing up so many times! I also laughed and felt a deep connection with each of those stories. No one could ever know what it feels like to experience those homecomings.

  3. I don't think I'll watch it. Not because I think it sends a negative response or that it may portray unrealistic circumstances and give civilians the wrong idea about the military lifestyle. I honestly just think that I couldn't handle watching it with my own husband's homecoming coming up. I think that it's a great idea for a show. I think that if some thinks that it exploits the moment, then they themselves shouldn't do it. While I wouldn't want that to be my homecoming, I think that it would be awesome to be able to watch it over and over again in professional filming.

Leave a Reply

