hump day!

On Sunday I celebrated with other Garuda families as we reached the halfway point!  In more or less 3.5 months, our sailors will finally be coming home to us!  Wooohooooo!!! We are on the down hill slope!  

This day was extra special for me because not only did I get to celebrate hump day, I also got to see and talk to Clint face to face for the very first time since he left!  Thanks to the USS Carl Vinson, VAQ-134, and modern technology we were able to do a Video TeleConference (VTC).  I had to drive 1.5 hours to NAS Whidbey Island, the picture was a little pixely, the sound lagged, and it only lasted 10 minutes…but man oh man was it AAAAAMAZING!  When you haven’t seen the person you love in so long, it doesn’t matter the quality, length, or distance you need to go to make it happen – every second is like a small piece of heaven.  I will admit though, it was kind of awkward/nervewracking!  I had so many butterflies in my tummy…it was like I was meeting Clint for the first time all over againBelieve it or not, there were even times when I felt slightly speechless.  Anyone who knows me, knows that doesn’t happen often!  Haha.  Having an IT guy in the room with Clint listening to our every word probably didn’t help.  πŸ™‚  Hopefully we will have more opportunities to VTC, but we shall see!

After three deployments and more detachments than I can count, I have learned that the small things truly do matter.  Just to name a few things I am really missing right now…

  • The ability to look Clint in the eye while talking to him
  • Not being alone while I browse cookbooks, grocery shop, and make meals.  I hate cooking for one
  • Seeing his name pop up on my phone
  • Small walks to the store or the waterfront
  • Falling asleep and waking up next to each other.  Don’t miss the snoring though πŸ˜‰
  • Hearing I LOVE YOU softly whispered in my ear
  • His hugs that melt away any worries
  • Hearing the door open after he’s worked a long shift, and feeling the grin that comes across my face
  • The sound of his laugh
  • Getting small neck rubs while I’m driving the car
  • Trying to decide on which RedBox movie to rent
  • The smell of his cologne… the smell of him in general

Say I love you every chance you get, give too many hugs and kisses, never forget the magnitude of the small things you do to make a person smile.  It’s the every day, run of the mill, normal stuff that you miss the most when you can’t have it. 

xoxo,

 


 

One thought on “hump day!

  1. Andrea, I am so glad you got to talk to Clint this way. How special! The little things do matter! Thank you for the reminder! You are in the home stretch my friend! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

