Kind of a funny question

With the end of deployment in sight, I have been getting asked this question quite often:

Are you excited?!

It isn’t a bad question, and I definitely take no offense to it (and if you have asked me, I hope you don’t take offense to this).  But I always chuckle to myself when I get asked because I find it to be a question with a rather obvious answer.  I mean, is a response other than YES! actually ever expected?

We got 28 days together after getting hitched and I haven’t seen him in 6+ months.  I’m not looking forward to homecoming at all. 

My husband left when I was 5 months pregnant, I had the baby alone while he was overseas, and he has yet to meet him.  I could wait a while longer before he comes back. side note – i’m not actually referring to myself here… simply an example!  i do not have a secret baby unknown to the world.

Haha, I didn’t think so either.  I could only imagine the look on someone’s face if I ever even gave an answer like that!  Maybe I’ll try it sometime… Lol.  Of course, talking about someone’s spouse returning after such a long time isn’t really a normal everyday kind of conversation…so I guess that plays a part.  And it certainly does spark conversation too, which of course I will use as an easy excuse to rave about my husband and how awesome I think he is.  🙂  Whatever the reason, though, I just think it’s funny.  Nothing more, nothing less.

But just in case you are still unsure… I am THRILLED that my husband is almost home.  Nothing in this world could make me happier.  I am counting down the minutes until I get to be in his arms again.

xoxo,

 

Leave a Reply

