an unfortunate truth

I stumbled across this on Pinterest and I had to share.  This is one of the most touching series of photos I’ve ever seen.  While I don’t have children yet, this still hits so close to home.  My dad deployed within a week of me being born, and he was overseas when my mom gave birth to my sister.  I have friends who have gone through pregnancies, births, and first years without their husbands – and someday I will likely join them on that list.  The idea of being Clint being away for such an important time in our lives is a frequent thought which deeply terrifies and saddens me.  But it is an unfortunate truth that many military families go through.  So when you look at this series of photos, please remember that for every father that is deployed during his child’s birth is also a mother who is doing this without him.

Leave a Reply

