define necessity

 I was originally planning on writing something about how it didn’t really feel like Christmas this year, mostly because Clint was gone again.  The more I tried to write it, though, the more I realized how mediocre of a topic it was.  There is no denying that it’s not fun being apart, but in the grand scheme of things is it really the worst thing in the world?  No, it’s not.  Therefore I’m writing about something that I think deserves attention instead.  If there is one post of mine that you consider sharing to everyone you know – let it be this one.

Convicting isn’t it? 

We are all guilty of thinking we don’t have enough, I know I sure am.  I can think of many times I’ve complained that there is nothing in my closet to wear, or when I’ve purchased items because in the moment I was so convinced I needed it.  We live in a society whose biggest shopping day of the year comes hours after we’ve just given thanks for everything we have.  We live in a society that turns to violence in order to ensure our shopping carts are filled to the brim.  We live in a society where kids throw tantrums if they receive a gift they don’t like.

I think we all need to just step back for a moment and look at the bigger picture.  We need to think about the 649,917 people in the United States who experience homelessness in a single night.  The 2.6 billion people who live without access to adequate sanitation.  The 21,000 children who die each day due to poverty, hunger, and curable disease.  The numbers are unsettling, aren’t they?

This Christmas season (well, any season really) I encourage you to reconsider your definition of necessity.  Get involved.  Donate money.  Volunteer time.  There are so many amazing organizations out there to help us do it, we really have no excuse not to.  Let’s get back to loving people, not things.

  • charity: water A non-profit organization bringing clean, safe drinking water to people in developing nations.
  • See Your Impact Give a gift.  In about 2 weeks, you’ll receive the photo and story of the person you helped.
  • Nuru International Equips people with tools and knowledge to lift themselves out of extreme poverty – forever.
  • One Day’s Wages Simply donate one day’s wages and renew that pledge monthly, quarterly or yearly to the cause of alleviating extreme global poverty.
  • Volunteer Match Strengthens communities by making it easier for good people and good causes to connect.
  • Serve.gov Find volunteer opportunities in your community, or create your own.

 

Leave a Reply

