the heart of a 7 year old

Tonight I had a little girl’s night planned with some of my friends from work.  We were sitting around the kitchen island waiting for our delicious dinner to be ready, when Casey begins to tell me about the conversation she & her husband had today with their young son, Collin. 

As many of you may know, the United States has officially ended the war in Iraq and many of our troops are returning home just in time for the holidays.  This was being shown on TV tonight, and Collin voiced how great it was that people would be together for Christmas.  The topic led them to a discussion that many families are still separated because loved ones are continuing to serve overseas.  Myself and Clint were brought up as a specific example.  A little disheartened, Collin went upstairs and emerged later with something to give me.

At this point Casey hands me a neatly folded, green piece of paper and a red box.  I begin to read the card from Collin and tears immediately fill my eyes.  I am tearing up now just thinking about how huge the heart of a 7 year old could be.   

Thank you Collin for one of the greatest gifts that I could have ever received.  I do not think words can fully express how much this small act of kindess means to me.  Your card will forever be one of my most prized possessions, not to mention the cookies were pretty darn good too!

 

One thought on “the heart of a 7 year old

  1. I love this!! How sweet of Collin to write that for you ♥ and thank goodness for wonderful parents like Casey and Kevin to nurture sweet little hearts!! Although he's far away, you're never alone!! If you need anywhere to be ever – you're always welcome with us!!

Leave a Reply

