Hopes for 2012

I’ve never been good about keeping my resolutions for the new year, so for 2012 I’m going to be simple(r):

Eat healthier
I have a tendency to think with my stomach.  If you know me, you know that I LOVE food.  Love is probably an understatement, I’m obsessed with food – eating it, smelling it, cooking it, watching shows about it, you get the picture.  This section of the post today will probably be the longest because I also love to talk about my love for food.  Haha.  Honestly, though, I sometimes wonder how on earth it’s possible I’m not much heavier than I am.  My fear is that it’s all going to catch up with me soon.  The running joke I have with Clint is that one morning I will wake up and have gained 200 pounds overnight.  YIKES, let’s hope not!  I don’t think my obsession for food is going to go away but I think reconsidering how I eat is necessary.  High cholesterol, heart disease, etc. run in my family and considering that heart disease is the #1 killer in women I probably shouldn’t take that lightly.  In 2012 I want to challenge myself to eat smaller portions, increase my fruit & veggie intake, fight harder against my sweet tooth, dine out less, consume other proteins besides chicken & beef, and get creative with new healthy recipes.  

Be more active
Once I get to the gym I’m usually ok… but getting there is the problem.  Lately I’ve been making some good strides towards a better routine, though.  Twice a week I see a personal trainer for 30 minutes of strength training, then I’ve been doing 30-45 minutes of cardio on my own after each session.  My goals for 2012 are to hit the gym or do some sort of intense physical activity 4x a week, get Charlie into the great outdoors more often with walks & trips to the dog park, take advantage of living in a fairly bicyclist-friendly state, and get back into 5k races.     

Stress less
I stress out way too much.  I’ll finally admit it Dad, I have a tendency to make mountains out of mole hills!  I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not as much of a free-spirit as I once thought I was… I prefer to plan when possible.  But considering the fact that I’m married to the Navy which is NEVER reliable, you can imagine my dilemma.  But I’m trying to remember that I’ll never be able to plan everything the way I totally want it, so why stress out over trying?  Things have a funny way of working themselves out and I need to trust that it will all be ok!  For 2012 I want to “let go & let God.”

I know that these 3 things will be A LOT of work, but I truly believe that if I can stick with it I will be happier overall.  I’ll be a better person, wife, sister, daughter, friend, and co-worker.  Wish me luck!

 

 

One thought on “Hopes for 2012

  1. Good resolutions! I never keep mine either. I didn't even make any this year…..maybe I'll make some right now! Ok – 1. Get a job. Preferably, a nursing job. And, preferably, in a hospital. If I can't manage that, I'll take any nursing job. 2. Get back into shape. This one always seems to be a resolution. But, now that we live at a real beach, I really need to get my butt in gear. And 3. Plants some plants. I've been wanting plants ever since I got married but was afraid to put anything into the ground. I've pretty much killed everything I've ever put into the ground. There was that one plant that survived, but the next tenants pulled it up as soon as they moved in. Good luck on your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

