pinterest inspired DIY project!

If you don’t already know, I am OBSESSED with Pinterest.  Like seriously obsessed.  The idea of visual bookmarks is fabulous and I’m constantly stumbling across amazing recipes, ideas, projects, clothes, etc.  Pin here, repin there!  I created a board for DIY projects and I’ve tried a few so far.  As of now, I have successfully completed 3… a fruit fly trap (totally works!), stove top orange potpourri (I’m not sure if this really counts as a true DIY project, but I’m saying it is), and reusable wall plug-ins (topic of today’s post!).  My other attempts at projects turned out to be wayyy harder than they looked, so I quickly scratched them…but maybe I’ll give them another go later!

Anywayyyy.  The reusable wall plug-in project was SO easy!  I wanted to do this for a few reasons:

  • Apparently many air fresheners contain Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs) which can be harmful to your health.  Since I’m trying to be better and more natural about what I put in/on my body, avoiding VOCs by making my own plug-ins is a smart & easy solution.
  • Depending on the brand, refills can get pricey!
  • I’ve only found one Air Wick scent I actually like enough to have in my home, and I’m too cheap to try Wallflowers.

So without further ado, here are pictures of my super easy DIY project!  The bottle of lavendar oil cost me about $10 dollars at Fred Meyer and I was able to refill 3 plug-ins, each taking only about 5 minutes!  My house smells absolutely heavenly without being overpowering.  I will no longer be buying plug-ins from the store!  I definitely plan on continuing with this method in the future…and with new scents!

start with an empty plug-in container (any brand!) and a bottle of your desired essential oilpry off the top and rinse the bottle thoroughlyfill about 1/3 of the empty container with essential oil1/3 ish!fill the rest of the plug-in with water, but remember you still have to put the topper back in so don’t over fill!put the topper back on the plug-in containerPlug back in and let your nostrils enjoy!If you have any scent recommendations, I’d love to hear them!  Leave a comment below with your suggestions!

 

One thought on “pinterest inspired DIY project!

Leave a Reply

